Hanuka is all about frying

So I fry.

But I like to fry ‘alternative’ things, not only doughnuts.

This year I made Sambusak again, which is anย Iraqi food.

Happy Hanuka!

Recipe:

Dough: 500gr flour,25gr. fresh yeast, 90ml oil, 240ml water, mix it all together and add 1tsp of salt.

Let it rise for about an hour in a warm place.

filling: 1 cup of chickpeas soaked for 24 hours, ground, 1chopped & fried onion to which you add the chickpeas, and 1tsp of cumin. Fry-mix for 5min.

All together: Roll the dough to 0.5 thick and cut out circles. Filling goes into the circles, closed and let rise for 10-20 min, till soft and puffy.

Deep Fry

Enjoy (while fresh!)

This entry was posted in Carbs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hanuka is all about frying

  1. John Sanders says:

    Thanks you sharing this recipe. I did not know sambusak yet. I am tired of french fries and fish. I do value variety.

You tell me

